Society of
Automotive Historians

2024 Nicolas-Joseph Cugnot Award

Language other than English

The 2024 Nicolas-Joseph Cugnot Award, Language other than English, will be awarded to one or more books published in calendar year 2023 that best advance the understanding of the history of the automobile in a language other than English. Consideration will be given to traditional automotive histories, including those focused on vehicles, manufacturers, individuals and events, as well as social histories of the automobile that examine the effect of the automobile on society, culture, and everyday life. The Award Panel may also, if it deems it warranted, select an additional book or books published in the calendar year 2023 for secondary recognition with an Award of Distinction. The Cugnot English Langauge and Language other than English awards have been given as separate awards since 2000.

Nominations and questions should be emailed to by June 15, 2024. Upon notice that an nomination is accepted, books should be forwarded to the Cugnot Award, Language other than English Panel Chair, Arthur Jones.

Any book submitted for Cugnot Award consideration becomes the property of the SAH, whether the nominated book wins an award or not. After the awards are made, all nominated and awarded books are sent to Auburn, Indiana for custodial care in The Society of Automotive Historians Special Reference Collection at the Auburn Cord Duesenberg Automobile Museum (ACDAM). This collection is available for onsite use by SAH members, ACDAM members and ACDAM visitors, following reading room protocols established by the ACDAM. A Memorandum of Understanding is in place, between the SAH and the ACDAM, detailing their relationship and the custodial care of the SAH book collection.

Previous Award Winners


Mercedes-Benz C 111, by Gerhard Heidbrink, Joachim Hack and Wolfgang Kalbhenn. Published by Motorbuch Verlag.


Danskbilproduktion, by Erich Karsholt, published by Strandbergs Forlag A/S

Award of Distinction: Fenaille & Despeaux, Fancetre d’Esso, by Christian Rouxel, published by E.T.A.I.


Paul Daimler, König des Kompressors, by Harry Niemann, published by Motorburch Verlag


La Hispano Suiza, empresa pionera, El Deportivo Alfonao XIII, by Manuel Lage, published by Ministry of Economy and Business

Award of Distinction: Kutschenlack, Asphaltschwarz & Nitroglanz Fahrzeuglackierung zwischen 1900 und 1945, by Gundula Tutt, published by Karren Publishing

Award of Distinction: Durchgeboxt, by Thomas Braun, published by Schneider Media


Lorraine-Dietrich: de la Voiture de Grand Luxe ah Geant de l’Aeronautigue, by Sébastien Faurès,  Fustel de Coulanges, published by E.T.A.I.

Award of Distinction: Encyklopedia Poznanskiej Motoryzacji, by Dobieslav Wielinski


Los Proyectos Deconocidos de CETA y Pegaso, by Manuel Lage, published by Fundacion Jorge Jove


Iran Royal Garage, by Borzou Sepasi (self-published in Farsi)

Award of Distinction: Weismann – Power and Passion, by Niels Hamann, published by Schneider Media


Given to Jean-Louis Loubet for Lifetime Achievement in research and publications in automotive history of France.

Award of Distinction: Ikarus – Busse fur die Welt, by Christian Suhr, published by Verlagkraftakt


Farman, De I’aviation a I’automobile by Claude Rouxel, Laurent Friry and Sébastien Faurès, Fustel de Coulanges, published by E.T.A.I.

Award of Distinction: Aerodynamicke Automobiliy, by Marian Suman-Hreblay, published by CPress, Brno


BMW Gespanne, by Hans-Jurgen Schneider and Stefan Knittel, published by Schneider Media

Award of Distinction: La Ferrari secondo Forghieri dal 1947 a Oggi, by Mario Foghieri and Daniel Buzzonetti, published by Girogio Nada Editore


No Award


Gotha de l’Automobile Francaise, by Claud Rouxel and Laurent Friry

Award of Distinction: Tatra, Nákladní a Užitková Vozidla, Autobusy a Trolejbusy, by Marián Šuman-Hreblay, published by Computer Press

Award of Distinction: Lindner, Karosserien und Anhänger aus Ammendorf, by Christian Suhr, published by Verlag Kraftakt


Fiat en Grand Prix, 1920-1930 by Sébastien Faurès Fustel de Coulanges, published by E.T.A.I.

Legende: BMW 02, by Hans-Jürgen Schneider and Halwart Schrader, published by Schneider Text Editions

Award of Distinction: Samochody osobowe, by Andrzej Zielinski, published by Wydawnictwa Komunikacji in Warsaw


1,000,000: Un Millón de Camiones y Buses Españoles, by Manuel Lage, published by IVECO España.

Awards of Distinction: SIMCA – L’aventure de l’hirondelle, by Adrien Cahuzac, published by E.T.A.I.

Award of Distinction: Voitures Des Pays De L’est, by Bernard Vermeylen, published by E.T.A.I.


d’Azur à Total: Desmarais Frères, le premier grand petrolier français, by Christian Rouxel, published by Drivers

Award of Distinction: Alle Autos der 50er Jahre 1945-1960, by Roger Gloor, published by Motorbuch Verlag


Autorennsport in der DDR – BMW (Ost), EMW, Wartburg, by Horst Ihling

Award of Distinction: Alle Autos der 60er Jahre, by Roger Gloor


Panhard & Levassor – entre tradition et modernité, by Bernard Vermeylen, published by E.T.A.I.

Award of Distinction: La belle voiture française, by Daniel Cabart and Claude Rouxel, published by E.T.A.I.

Award of Distinction: Berliet, by Monique Chapelle, published by Éditions Le Télégramme


Award of Distinction: Sie Bauten Autos, by Michael Graf Wolff Metternich and Hans-Otto Neubauer, published by Verlag Hermann E. Sieger GmbH.

Award of Distinction: Ford en France et en Belgique, by Hubert Bonin, Thierry Grosbois, Nicolas Hatzfeld and J-L Loubet, published by éditions P.L.A.G.E.


Sto Lat Polskiej Motoryzacji, by Stanislaw Szelichowski, published by Krakowska Oficyna SAB

BMW Automobile, by Halwart Schrader, published by Motorbuch Verlag

Award of Distinction: Renault en Afrique: Croisières automobiles et raids aériens 1901-1939, by Marie-Christine Rouxel, published by E.T.A.I.


Renault des automobiles de prestige, by Claude Rouxel, Marc Griselhubert, Claude Gueldry, and Jacques Dorizon, published by E.T.A.I.

Award of Distinction: Deutsche Autos Band 1 – 1885-1920, by Halwart Schrader, published by Motorbuch-Verlag


Handwerk på Hjul (Rolling Coachwork – The Story of Norwegian Bodymakers), by Asbjorn Rolseth

Award of Distinction: Le Rallye Monte-Carlo au XXème Siècle, by Maurice Louche


No awards


La Hispano-Suiza: El Vuelo de las Cigüeñas 1916-1931, by Emilio Polo, published by Wings and Flags

Award of Distinction: Hanomag-Personenwagen von Hannover in die Welt, by Horst-Dieter Görg and Torsten Hamacher, published by  Mundschenk Druck-und Verlagsgesellschaft mbH.